Senate Majority Leader Mike Shirkey

(R-Clarklake)
2 Terms
Senate District 16
S-102 C
517-373-5932

senmshirkey@senate.michigan.gov
Official Website

Biographical Information

Home Address: 11757 Sutfin Rd, Clarklake, MI  49234
(517) 206-8221
Born: December 5, 1954
Marital Status: Married
Spouse: Sue
Children: Marilyn, David, Daniel
Education: University of Wisconsin-Madison '79
Employment/Military Record: Owner of Orbit form Group
Governmental Leadership (Elected or Appointed):
Michigan Senate 16th District 2018
General Vote: 56,980 of 90,869 (62%)
Primary Vote: 18,105 of 28,494 (63%)
Campaign Finance Reports
Endorsements: Right to Life of Michigan, Michigan Farm Bureau, County Road Association of Michigan, Michigan Freedom Network, Small Business Association of Michigan, Michigan Chamber of Commerce, Detroit Regional Chamber PAC, National Federation of Independent Business, Citizens for Traditional Values, Michigan Realtors

Michigan Senate 16th District 2014
General Vote: 41,667 of 68,490 (60%)
Primary Vote: 17,152 of 17,152 (100%)
Campaign Finance Reports
Endorsements: Michigan Milk Producers Association, Michigan Manufacturers Association, Michigan Coalition for Responsible Gun Owners, Michigan Townships Association, Michigan Farm Bureau AgriPAC, Great Lakes Education Project, National Federation of Independent Business, Michigan Chamber of Commerce, Small Business Association of Michigan Small BIZ PAC, Michigan Bankers Association PAC, Michigan Realtors PAC, Michigan Licensed Beverage Association, County Road Association of Michigan RUSH-PAC, MTA-PAC, MiBankPAC

Michigan House 65th District 2012
General Vote: 22,862 of 40,243 (56%)
Primary Vote: 6,786 of 8,608 (78%)
Campaign Finance Reports

Michigan House 65th District Special Election (November 2, 2010)
General Vote: 17,489 of 27,681 (63%)
Primary Vote: 5,987 of 8,660 (69%)

Michigan House 65th District 2010
General Vote: 17,889 of 28,294 (63%)
Primary Vote: 6,249 of 8,861 (70%)

Religion: Protestant

Committee Assignments
Legislative Council
Chair
Session
Majority Leader
Key Legislative Staff
Jeremy Hendges, Chief of Staff
jhendges@senate.michigan.gov
Molly Kauffman, District Director
mkauffman@senate.michigan.gov
Cole Lussier, General Counsel
clussier@senate.michigan.gov
Katelyn Young, Deputy General Counsel
kyoung@senate.michigan.gov
Danielle Devine, Director of Legislative Strategy
ddevine@senate.michigan.gov
Sarah Kissling, Director of Internal Affairs
skissling@senate.michigan.gov
Jordan Keyser, Constituent Relations Director
jkeyser@senate.michigan.gov
Darin Ackerman, Senior Advisor and Legislative Director
dackerman@senate.michigan.gov
Grace Cheney, Executive Assistant and Special Projects Coordinator
gcheney@senate.michigan.gov

Sponsored Legislation
SB 597
Behavioral Health Care
SB 714
Behavioral Health
SR 5
senate rules
SR 23
subpoena power
SR 32
Subpoena Power
SR 98
Standing Rules of Senate
SCR 9
Frank Kelley Memorial
SCR 11
Memorial for Willis "Bill" Clare Bullard, Jr.
SCR 14
Memorial for Mark C. Jansen
SCR 15
Memorial for Tom Casperson
SCR 18
Memorial for Karen Fort Hood
SCR 19
Memorial for Donald Bishop
SCR 20
Memorial for John A. "Jack" Welborn
SCR 22
Memorial for Shirley Johnson
SCR 26
Memorial - Dale Kildee
SCR 27
Reappointing Auditor Generals
Copyright 2022, Gongwer News Service, Inc. All rights reserved.
Terms of ServicePrivacy Policy